a fan on open day.

bhOndOO was running around. He had nothing to do and didn’t want any visitors to know it. All the CSA Open Day volunteers were busy executing their tasks: some were conducting contests, some were correcting papers, some were taking photographs, some were arranging for talks, and nobody was running around without purpose.

What should I do? I can’t even be in my lab — it is in SERC.

While surveying all labs, he realized that E-Commerce lab is the most crowded. Hence he decided to spend time there.

E-Commerce lab was full of visitors when bhOndOO entered. Three students in different corners were explaining different projects in the lab: Dharika about auctions, Suji about cooperative games and Rama about social networks. While Suji and Rama were surrounded by a mix of genders, Dharika was surrounded only by male visitors. The lab students had a lot of posters and demonstrations, and pamphlets to be distributed. bhOndOO felt inferior because SERC had not allowed visitors to enter any of its research labs.

The next instant, Gullu entered the lab. He was the lead volunteer of Open Day. bhOndOO felt jealous because Gullu looked busy.

“Hey guys, how is it going?”, Gullu asked in a commanding voice to the people explaining game theory to the visitors.

“Wonderful.”, “Lot of crowd.”, “Tiring.”, were the three responses.

Gullu glanced at and ignored bhOndOO. bhOndOO felt worse.

Suddenly, Dharika remembered something and “Gullu, for the puzzle solving contest, we will need enough rough sheets. Can you arrange for some pages?”.

“Sure, I will arrange for those in 15 minutes.”, and he turned to leave.

“But where will you be, if someone asks?”, Dharika enquired.

“Call me on my mobile.”.

“I don’t have…”.

“bhOndOO has.” and Gullu was away.

bhOndOO suddenly felt a joy of proving helpful. He was waiting for Dharika to ask him Gullu’s number, but she continued explaining auctions to the male visitors. bhOndOO went into the great depression again.

The next instant, a young girl entered the lab, looked around and went to Dharika. Dharika continued auction theory.

“Excuse me?”, the young visitor asked.

“Yes?”.

“I want to meet the author of the blog Research Life?”.

Dharika kept looking at the visitor for a second, then looked at another corner in the lab and, “bhOndOO?”.

bhOndOO, hearing an unexpected call, started looking everywhere clueless. He saw a big crowd looking at him inquisitively, with two female faces: one indifferent and another with eyes sparkling.

Before bhOndOO could answer or Dharika could continue, the young girl with sparkling eyes marched forward, “Oh! You write that blog!”.

bhOndOO kept silent understanding nothing.

“I am a big fan of your blog.”.

A smile, a bit wider than fitting into the definition of a smile, appeared on bhOndOO’s face. He inadvertantly replied, “Thank you.” and thought, I did not know I have fans.

“You have an amazing sense of humour.”.

Humour? May be she is talking about the post when I ran after the mouse with a knife.

The smile widened.

“I have read all of your posts.”.

I might only have at most five posts. But nevertheless. “Really!”, he managed.

“And all of them are just hilarious!”.

By now bhOndOO had started blushing. All the other people in the lab were silently watching the show. bhOndOO was on the seventh sky. The great depression era had come to an end.

“I wonder how you manage to write such a brilliant stuff! You should publish a book.”.

If I can publish a book with five entries, I have a huge career opportunity in writing. “Oh! I am not that great a writer.”.

“No seriously. Your stories are so amazing, anybody would be ready to publish those.”.

She is calling my blurts as stories? I never looked at my posts so seriously. May be I should go back and re-read. “That is so nice of you to say.”.

“Oh! God! I can’t believe that I am meeting you.”.

bhOndOO felt shy. He didn’t dare look around at the lab people. The lab people were silently listening.

“One of my favorites is the story when you go to Nandi Hills.”.

“Ya… Sorry? What?”.

“The blog post on your trip to Nandi Hills?”.

“I never blogged about Nandi Hills.”.

“Oh! Come on! The one in which you narrated the incident in a bus.”.

“Bus? I don’t remember.”.

“There is a music band in the bus.”.

“What are you talking about?”.

The enthusiasm on the girl’s face changed to that of suspicion, “You are the author of Research Life, right?”.

“No, he is not.”, Dharika finally found her chance to speak.

“What?”, the fan was clearly disappointed.

“He writes about … about … something which cannot be categorized and which nobody reads.”.

bhOndOO looked down — back to great depression.

“The one you are looking for is Gullu. He writes Research Life. He just went out. But bhOndOO, this person, has his mobile number. Hence I was asking him. But you hurried to mistake him for Gullu.”.

“Oh! Silly me! How can I make such a blunder! When will Gulluji be back?”.

GulluJi?

“He will be back in 10-15 minutes.”.

“Will he come here?”.

“Yes.”.

“Then I will wait here for him.”.

“You can go around and have a look at the demos in different labs and come back.”.

“No. I don’t want to miss him.”.

“You can take his number from bhOndOO. bhOndOO?”.

bhOndOO had left the lab long ago.


This post is dedicated to the young visitor who met me on Open Day.

It was indeed my pleasure to meet her. I wish her all the very best in life.

Tags: , , , , ,

11 Responses to “a fan on open day.”

  1. arun Says:

    Simply amazing the way you write your posts. I have read almost all of them and is really fun, especially i like your narration. Btw, i seriously think you should consider publishing a book.

  2. Arnab Says:

    whoa! didn’t know about this [:)]

  3. vinay Says:

    Yes, yes! I second Arun and your young fan 🙂
    and may bhOndOO be always the way he is! he has always been!

  4. pradeesha Says:

    Gullu has a blog…!!! and I always thought Paresh is the blogger friend of Bhodoo!

  5. iisc Says:

    Pradeesha, keen observers like you will keep me out of business.

  6. Vamsi Says:

    keep going ! all the best.

  7. Yashaswini Says:

    i want to meet Gulluji 😦
    🙂 thanks for the dedicaton… keep posting…bhOndOO rocks!!

  8. BiGYaN Says:

    Wow, didn’t I tell you that lots of people actually read this blog !!

    U do have a strong fan following … 🙂

  9. Radhesh Says:

    Nice stories bhOndOO.
    I had been reading this blog for quite sometime now 🙂

  10. Meghana Says:

    I found this site 4days ago:-). Really interesting:-) i read all the stories from begining:)

  11. apkmnp Says:

    Once again a fantastic work done… I am a gr8 fan of urs blog..sense of humour is awesome …will follow ur blog in future too…

Leave a Reply

