phd resolutions.

Before joining PhD:

  • I want to win the Nobel Prize.
  • I want to win the Turing Award.

First year of PhD:

  • I want to finish PhD in two years.
  • I want to publish papers only in top tier conferences.
  • I want to make ground-breaking research.
  • I want to win the best PhD Thesis award.

Second year of PhD:

  • I want to finish PhD in 5 years.
  • I want a problem.
  • Shall I change my advisor?

Third year of PhD:

  • I want a paper; I don’t care which conference.
  • Shall I change my topic?
  • I want to be known as Dr bhOndOO.

Fourth year of PhD:

  • I want to finish PhD!
  • My industry-friends have two children by now. When will I get married?

Fifth year of PhD:

  • Why did I come here?
  • Why did I choose this advisor?
  • Why did I choose this topic?

Sixth year of PhD:

  • Someone give me a degree!
  • I want to leave this place — for ever.
  • Let me leave.

Seventh year of PhD:

  • People call me uncle.
  • She waited and finally married someone else.
  • I don’t want any degree. I just want to live peacefully.

You may wish to check out cartoons on research life.

Tags: , , ,

43 Responses to “phd resolutions.”

  1. Kiran Tikare Says:

    Hmm…. it reminds me one thing from History, every civilization felt that its era was advanced than any other previous era, Greeks felt it but heliocentric concept changed it,Physicists felt it at the end of 1900, but Theory of Relativity, Black Body Radiation, Weins displacement law changed it, Modern Physicists felt it but dark matter & dark energy changed it.

    Is it the way nature works?

    I think it happens because Human’s try to solve problems until they get satisfied at that moment.

    Regards,
    Kiran Kumar

  2. skp Says:

    Rocking … as always πŸ˜€ !!

  3. mythalez Says:

    lol … i pledge i shall leave with my phd around 3 yrs πŸ˜›

  4. megha thomas Says:

    why is the title of the blog now just “.” instead of “iisc life” ?????????

  5. Abi Says:

    Hilarious!

    Keep’em coming!

  6. iisc Says:

    Thanks for your comments Kiran, Suryakant, Mythalez and Sir.

    Megha, I changed the image on the homepage (“iisc life.” is an image now) to show a candle (celebrating bhOndOO’s birthday) and hence had to chage the title to not interfere with the image. The title will be restored soon.

  7. Vamsi Says:

    don’t scare me πŸ˜‰

  8. iisc Says:

    No, no, Vamsi. It is not applicable to you. You join here for PhD and we will change this post :).

  9. Nikunj Says:

    If this is what really happens, I think I will have to rethink…….
    I am really in “Before joining phd” state…

  10. iisc Says:

    Hey Nikunj, don’t get bogged down by these words. Take it in a lighter tone. Talk to students who are already doing PhD.

    Best Wishes.

  11. Phd Resolutions | DesiPundit Says:

    […] | Humor, Personal Stuff bhOndOO writes on his Phd resolutions. Good luck bhOndOO!!! Before joining […]

  12. Nikhil Narayanan Says:

    Sounds scary!
    Good luck bhOndOO!

    -Nikhil

  13. tgfi Says:

    hahahaha! awesome! loved it! πŸ™‚

  14. eh Says:

    hmm…
    guess its the same everywhere….

    http://www.phdcomics.com/comics.php?f=1012

  15. Dinesh Babu Says:

    Hilarious! We used to rightly say PhD = Passed with High Difficulties πŸ™‚

  16. PhD Resolutions « SatyaVrat Says:

    […] here. Published […]

  17. SatyaVrat Says:

    Awesome. And a bit scary.

  18. Shilpa Says:

    Haha…hilarious..Not to mention the ire when friend who sat beside you at school and doodled..now has a new BMW!!
    Will I ever make any money?
    Who will read my thesis?
    Where’s the rest of my brain??
    haha…But we still do it eh?

  19. iisc Says:

    Nikhil, tgfi, Thanks a lot!

    eh, Thanks for the link. Yes, it is the same everywhere.

    Dinesh Babu, Thanks. The full-form is wonderful.

    SatyaVrat, Thanks, but don’t get scared. Well, not an apt analogy, but marriage is probably worse than PhD and still we go for it, right?

    Shilpa, Thanks. You are right and you know it.

  20. revathi Says:

    Reminds me of an old joke from IISc days. I wonder if it still circulates.

    The 4th year PhD student tells the IISc director: After 4 years of research on inorganic complexes, all I have developed is an inferiority complex.
    Director: What about superiority complex?

    Student: My guide has already developed it.

    Good luck. It is just a matter of time.

  21. Srav Says:

    Fish! I just joined my PhD course in Rice Univ. And i do wanna get a nobel prize 😦

  22. Rohit Says:

    Been there……….i finished my PhD just last year from an American University in one of the biological sciences field…..and believe me ..everyone i know goes through the same phase….nice analysis.

    Rohit

  23. iisc Says:

    Revathi, at least the joke is not circulated in CSA dept. Thanks for sharing it, it is wonderful.

    Srav, all the best from all of us for the Nobel. Note that there is no smiley.

    Rohit, thanks for the good words and welcome to the blog.

  24. thanks to dr abi, nikhil, desipundit, and reuters. « iisc life. Says:

    […] Thank you Abi Sir, Nikhil, DesiPundit Team and (recursively) Reuters for featuring PhD Resolutions. […]

  25. rahul Says:

    ROFLMAO
    u have laid to rest whatever little inkling I had of may be doing a PHD someday!!!

  26. iisc Says:

    Rahul, welcome to the blog. But seriously man, I had no intentions whatsoever to discourage public from joining for PhD.

  27. jatkesha Says:

    Hilarious! Keep them coming πŸ˜€

    Thanks a lot for the laugh πŸ™‚

  28. iisc Says:

    You are welcome, jatkesha and Thanks a lot.

  29. Rajesh Kumar Says:

    Awsome…my wife’s a PhD scholar too and I quite can relate to this.

  30. karthikeyan Says:

    its very nice one.

    suppose that peroson concentrately worked then easily got the phd other wise happen the same thing for the all work.

  31. voices bulletins and magazine. « iisc life. Says:

    […] entries from this blog were featured in the magazine: phd resolutions and coffee with […]

  32. tete a tete with j n tata. « iisc life. Says:

    […] third year of his PhD without a paper, however, bhOndOO had already passed the desire for winning any prizes. He, at once, realized the importance of celebrating Science Day on Feb 28, and hated the Rhythmica […]

  33. Kiran Tikare Says:

    Hope you like this, (PhD Comics)

    http://www.phdcomics.com/comics.php

  34. Kiran Tikare Says:

    from the above link

  35. How to Get Six Pack Fast Says:

    After reading the article, I feel that I need more information on the topic. Can you suggest some more resources ?

  36. Ram Says:

    Hi guys .. a bit confused .. whats goin on here .. do u guys mean IISc sucks oor PhD sucks.. can u be a little clear .. ( or PhD @ IISc sucks ) ?

  37. barathi Says:

    Hello everyone……..i like to do my PhD at IISc. Can anyone tell me how should i prepare for the test and interview.

  38. research life. « iisc life. Says:

    […] Update: Thanks to Vamsi for sending me this link, which names this character as Tuzki Rabbit and shows many more of its animations. Enjoy! Check out PhD resolutions. […]

  39. PRIYA Says:

    I am planning to do Ph.D at IISC.can anyone tell me about the next admission date..is it in feb? how is the interview…also is it wise to join there..as these scraps are giving me a warning

  40. thomas Says:

    shit.. depressing stuff [:o] since im all pumped up about doing a Ph.D at iisc & even visited iisc recently πŸ˜€ ..not 7 years! right?

  41. f Says:

    it was so funny!

  42. iiscdude Says:

    Yeah dudes in iisc u cannot finish phd in 5years very saad place better go to tifr. Also environment really sucks

  43. merchant banking in Indian economy Says:

    Helpful information. Fortunate me I discovered your website accidentally, and I am
    surprised why this coincidence didn’t took place in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

Leave a comment